

## **INTERNET ARTICLE**

## DWS spearheads Community Forums establishment in Molemole and Lepelle-Nkumpi Local Municipalities

28 January 2017

The Department of Water and Sanitation, in partnership with Molemole and Lepelle-Nkumpi Local Municipalities, has established community forums with the intention of ensuring better communication between the residents and communities.

This came about after the department as well as the municipalities concerned realised that some of the service delivery protests are a result of poor communication.

Officials from the Department, led by the Inter-Governmental Relations Deputy Director: Mr Ramano Masibigiri, together with officials from the Capricorn District Municipality led by the MMC for Infrastructure Development, Cllr MM Mohale, conducted the election of the forum's executive members.

After extensive deliberations, community members from Molemole and Lepelle-Nkumpi Municipalities agreed that the chairpersons of their forums should be the MMCs for Infrastructure Development as their portfolios are responsible for water and sanitation among other things. That will also allow them easy access to municipal council meetings and issues being raised by communities will be resolved quicker unlike when the forum's chairperson is someone who does not have access to the mayor.

"Elected members of the executive should always be willing to meet with their communities and give them feedbacks about issues they raise in their community meetings, and I also urge that the deputy chairperson should not be a member of the municipal council, but an ordinary person who will represent the community in the executive of the forum. And also note that ward councillors will automatically be ex officio members of the forum, so there is no need to elect them," said Cllr. Mohale.

After much deliberations, in Molemole Local Municipality, Cllr Lehong MD, MMC for Infrastructure Development in the Municipality was elected as the chairperson, the Deputy Chairperson Position was given to the business community, whereas the Secretary position was given to Mamma



Mokhudwane, who is a member of the CDW. Whereas in the Lepelle-Nkumpi Local Municipality, Cllr Phofela M, also the MMC for Infrastructure Development was elected as the Chairperson. It was agreed that other members of the executive would be elected at the first executive meeting.

**Malope Matlou**